Allegri String Quartet
18th November 2017
Allegri String Quartet

The Allegri Quartet, in its 62nd year, is Britain’s oldest chamber group. Founded in 1953, it has played a key role in the British Musical scene, working with composers such as Benjamin Britten, Elizabeth Maconchy, Anthony Payne and James MacMillan.

Martyn Jackson and Rafael Todes (violins), Dorothea Vogel (viola) and Vanessa Lucas-Smith (cello) begin tonight’s concert with one of Haydn’s most effervescent works, and finish with Sheffield composer Ray Kohn’s 19th string quartet with its Kol Nidre second movement. The evening will be capped by a performance of one of the greatest chamber works ever composed, Beethoven’s opus 132.

Saturday 18th November, 7.00 pm. Ticket prices: Standard £10.00 on the door or £8.80 advance from Concessions (pensioners, students, children and unemployed) £5.00 on the door
See Also:
Allegri String Quartet


Back To Calendar