Allegri String Quartet

Allegri String Quartet

Saturday 18th November, 7.00 pm

The Allegri Quartet, in its 62nd year, is Britain’s oldest chamber group. Founded in 1953, it has played a key role in the British Musical scene, working with composers such as Benjamin Britten, Elizabeth Maconchy, Anthony Payne and James MacMillan.

Martyn Jackson and Rafael Todes (violins), Dorothea Vogel (viola) and Vanessa Lucas-Smith (cello) begin tonight’s concert with one of Haydn’s most effervescent works, and finish with Sheffield composer Ray Kohn’s 19th string quartet with its Kol Nidre second movement. The evening will be capped by a performance of one of the greatest chamber works ever composed, Beethoven’s opus 132.

Ticket prices: Standard £10.00 on the door or £8.80 advance from  Concessions (pensioners, students, children and unemployed) £5.00 on the door




St Andrew's Music Festival 2017
Webpage icon Hecla Ensemble
Webpage icon Wenyi and Shu: A Concert of Chinese Music
Webpage icon Neil McSweeney
Webpage icon Dodworth Colliery Band
Webpage icon Sheffield Young Singers
Webpage icon Sheffield Music Academy
Webpage icon The Gjylaci Duo
Webpage icon St Andrew's Music Festival 2017
Printer Printable Version